Get Language Help

The Scottish Rite

The Scottish Rite Creed of Freemasonry

The Scottish Rite Creed of Freemasonry

Human Progress is our cause, Liberty of thought our supreme wish, freedom of conscience our mission, and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.

History & Legacy

What is Scottish Rite?

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. Its origins most likely began in the early 1730s in England with the Scotch Masons or Scots Master Masons, which were later introduced to French Masonry. In 1801, the First Supreme Council was established in Charleston, SC. The Scottish Rite is one of several groups that are part of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite is the largest and most widely practiced Masonic Rite in the world.

It is our mission to improve our members and help them shine their light into their communities by teaching and emulating the principles of Brotherly Love, Tolerance, Charity and Truth while actively embracing high social, moral, and spiritual values including fellowship, compassion and dedication to God, family and country.

Knowledge & Wisdom

What are the Scottish Rite degrees?

While there is no Masonic degree more important than that of Master Mason, there is a long tradition—almost as old as Freemasonry—of “high degrees” that expand upon the teachings and lessons of the first three degrees. The Scottish Rite degrees teach a series of moral lessons culminating in the 32°, Master of the Royal Secret. The Scottish Rite continues a Master Mason’s education in many ways:

•  4°-32° Degree work
•  Speakers at meetings
•  Leadership conferences
•  Scottish Rite Journal
•  Publishing Masonic books
•  Scottish Rite Research Society

What are the Supreme Council, Orients and Valleys?

The governing body of the Scottish Rite is the Supreme Council. It is composed of active and deputy members of the 35 states and several overseas jurisdictions that make up the Southern Jurisdiction. Each state or jurisdiction that belongs to the Southern Jurisdiction is called an Orient. The local Scottish Rite body is called a Valley. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees.

In the Southern Jurisdiction these are:

•  Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
•  Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°)
•  Council of Kadosh (19°–30°)
•  Consistory (31°–32°)

The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.


Once a man becomes a master Mason, he seeks more masonic light in the higher degrees. Scottish Rite offers 28 degrees to further his masonic education. The Scottish Rite Valleys draw Masons from a large area, giving opportunities for the Brothers to share their journeys. During the process, he will have the opportunity to participate in many fulfilling roles.

How do I join the Scottish Rite?

To join the Scottish Rite of Georgia, you must:

•  Be a Master Mason in good standing in a regular lodge
•  Complete a petition and include the appropriate fee
•  Attend a “Reunion” where the Scottish Rite Degrees are conferred

Contact us for more information about joining the Brotherhood.

Learn more about becoming a Mason on our Grand Lodge of Georgia website.

Learn more about our national Scottish Rite efforts on our Supreme Council website.